Volunteer Spotlight: Gina Fox

October 15, 2012 at 1:19 pm Leave a comment

Tell me about your family.

I have one son and a husband. We live in Grosse Pointe on the east side.  My husband and I both come from large families.  My son, Michael, is 27 and a first year practicing attorney. He doesn’t cook though.  He’s like the shoemaker’s son who doesn’t wear shoes!

How did you get involved with cooking and nutrition?

Growing up, if you ever needed to find my mom, she was in the kitchen.  You’d go in there to ask her a question, and she’d have you peel a potato or something, and then she’d answer your question.  I have my undergraduate degree in home economics and my masters in teaching.  I was a home-ec teacher for many years.  Back in the day, that’s what they called it, home-ec…now it’s “life management.”  Out of six kids in my family, four of us are teachers.  I always felt that’s what my mom really wanted- to be a teacher.  So she was always teaching us how to cook.

What do you do in your spare time?

I like to cook.  Because my husband and I come from such big families, we are constantly having gatherings.   I also love decorating.  I’m very hands on and tactile.  I volunteer with the organization humble design that helps furnish and decorate home interiors for moms and kids coming out of shelters or escaping domestic abuse.   Family and home takes up most of my spare time.

How did you hear about Cooking Matters?

I was actually watching TV one day and I saw Jake on FOX channel 2 doing a cooking demo.  I thought to myself, “this is something I can do.”  I’m a retired teacher of one year, but once a teacher, always a teacher.

 Do you have a go-to recipe you’d like to share?

MINESTRONE SOUP

Ingredients:

1/2 lb. lean ground beef

2 Tbs. Olive oil

1 medium chopped onion

1/2 cup chopped celery

1/2 cup chopped carrots

1 (19 oz ) can cannelloni beans, rinsed and drained

1 (14 oz) can low sodium chopped tomatoes

2 Tbs. tomato paste

1 large potato cubed

1 quart beef broth

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbs. Italian seasoning

1-2 bay leaf

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 cup Ditalini pasta

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

1.  Brown ground beef in a large stock pot. Drain beef and set aside.

2.  Add olive oil to stock pot and sauté, onion, celery and carrots.

3.  To the pot, add reserved ground beef, rinsed beans,tomatoes, tomato paste, cubed potato, beef broth, garlic, Italian seasoning, bay leaf and salt and pepper.

4.  Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat.  Simmer until vegetables are barely tender. Remove bay leaf 5.  Add pasta, and simmer for 30 minutes, correct seasonings and serve with grated cheese and a loaf of crusty Italian bread.


I make this recipe quite often. We are big soup eaters in my house and it feels like the weather is calling for me to make some soon.

This recipe serves 6.  As my grandmother use to say if more people arrive than expected “you can always add more water to the soup”.

http://humbledesign.org/

Entry filed under: Recipe, volunteer, Volunteer spotlight. Tags: .

Cooking Matters Satellite Programming Volunteers Needed Throughout the Holidays

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

Cooking Matters Twitter Feed

USDA Statement

This material was partially funded by the State of Michigan with federal funds from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by way of the Michigan Nutrition Network at the Michigan Fitness Foundation. This work is supported in part by the Michigan Department of Human Services, under contract number ADMIN-10-99011. Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the view of the Michigan Fitness Foundation or the Michigan Department of Human Services. In accordance with Federal law and USDA policy, these institutions are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political beliefs or disability. To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720- 6382 (TTY). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program provides nutrition assistance to people with low income. It can help you buy nutritious foods for a better diet. To find out more contact the toll free Michigan Food Assistance Program Hotline at (855) ASK-MICH. Space-Limited USDA/DHS/MNN Credit Statement This material was partially funded by the State of Michigan with federal funds from the United States Department of Agriculture Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by way of the Michigan Nutrition Network at the Michigan Fitness Foundation. These institutions are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political beliefs or disability. People who need help buying nutritious food for a better diet call the toll free Michigan Food Assistance Program Hotline: (855) ASK-MICH.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

