Volunteer Spotlight: Billy Genterola

December 12, 2012 at 10:49 pm Leave a comment

Billy really wowed us with his fruit carving skills at the volunteer appreciation event at Le Petit Zinc this fall.

Billy really wowed us with his fruit carving skills at the volunteer appreciation event at Le Petit Zinc this fall.

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m Billy Genterola. I came from the Philippines. I have management degree in the Philippines and worked with various multinational companies including retail and restaurant chains. I recently finished my Culinary Arts degree at OCC. I am actively volunteering in the dining room management classes. I love working in the restaurant especially in the dining room. I love talking with guest and suggesting wines to pair with their food. Last June 2012, I won the gold at SkillsUSA National Food and Beverage Competition held in Kansas City, MO.

What made you decide to pursue a culinary career?

I always love Cooking. My mom taught me how to cook when I was 7 years old. I came from a family of cooks too! My great grandfather was a cook during World War II. When I came to the US I decided to go back to school and pursue my first love.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love running. I read books (mostly cooking books). I carve fruits for display. I also like adventure and dining out with friends.

How did you find out about Cooking Matters?

I was talking to my friend about my volunteering activities and she told me about her volunteer job at Gleaners. So during an ACF convention I was able to talk to a CM coordinator and learned about the program.

Do you have a highlight from a Cooking Matters class that you’d like to share?

Nothing in particular. I taught seniors and teen classes. They were all great! They have lots of questions and always ask for my favorite foods.

Do you have a favorite recipe?

Edamame Hummus!

Ingredients

1/2 pound frozen shelled edamame (green soy beans), about 1 1/2 cups
1/4 cup tahini
1/4 cup water
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated lemon zest
1 lemon (about 3 tablespoons), juiced
1 clove garlic, smashed
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Directions

1. Boil the beans in salted water for 4 to 5 minutes, or microwave, covered, for 2 to 3 minutes.
2. In a food processor, puree the edamame, tahini, water, lemon zest and juice, garlic, salt, cumin, and coriander until smooth. With the motor running, slowly drizzle in 2 tablespoons of the olive oil and mix until absorbed.
3. Transfer to a small bowl, stir in the parsley and drizzle with remaining oil.

Serve with the pita or vegetables, or refrigerate, covered, up to 1 day.

Recipe adapted from foodnetwork.com
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Thanksgiving Dinner Remix Extreme Food Makeover: Holiday Edition!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Cooking Matters Twitter Feed

USDA Statement

This material was partially funded by the State of Michigan with federal funds from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by way of the Michigan Nutrition Network at the Michigan Fitness Foundation. This work is supported in part by the Michigan Department of Human Services, under contract number ADMIN-10-99011. Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the view of the Michigan Fitness Foundation or the Michigan Department of Human Services. In accordance with Federal law and USDA policy, these institutions are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political beliefs or disability. To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720- 6382 (TTY). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program provides nutrition assistance to people with low income. It can help you buy nutritious foods for a better diet. To find out more contact the toll free Michigan Food Assistance Program Hotline at (855) ASK-MICH. Space-Limited USDA/DHS/MNN Credit Statement This material was partially funded by the State of Michigan with federal funds from the United States Department of Agriculture Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by way of the Michigan Nutrition Network at the Michigan Fitness Foundation. These institutions are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political beliefs or disability. People who need help buying nutritious food for a better diet call the toll free Michigan Food Assistance Program Hotline: (855) ASK-MICH.

