Volunteer Spotlight: Ed Slawinski

December 7, 2016 at 2:45 pm Leave a comment

ed-s-graduation-cropped

Tell us a little about yourself.
“I have worked at General Motors for the last 30 years. I have worked for several companies over that time supporting GM, and became an actual employee a little over three years ago. I guess you could say that I’m a geek. I work in the IT department at General Motors. I  participate in the engineering of, and building of the servers at General Motors. I really enjoy what I do.

My first jobs after I graduated from U of M were in the food and beverage industry.  I worked at several restaurants where I held assorted jobs including waiter, cook, and manager.  I worked as food and beverage manager at a major hotel.  After getting married and having a child, I decided to change industries for something in an office setting, working less holidays and weekends. I maintained my love for cooking and food preparation and continued it as a hobby. As an avid hunter I learned how to process and cook wild game.

A few years ago I found myself suffering from numerous ailments. I found myself confronted with high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes, and taking numerous medications for them. One day, I just got sick and tired of being sick and tired. Upon learning that these ailments are diet related, I set out on quest to improve the quality of my health.  I started to exercise and eat more healthy. I went from eating processed junk food to making the majority of my food from scratch. I have lost a considerable amount of weight, and have been able to get off the majority of my medications, I still fight every day to become healthier and eat better. I have learned a lot from the research that I have done as a result of cooking matters”. 

What led you to the Cooking Mattes Program?
“I learned about the cooking matters program on the GM cares website. The GM cares website was established to provide information about different volunteer opportunities in the area.

At the website they recommend that you find a cause that you are passionate about. I do love cooking, and when I found this opportunity, I felt it would be a perfect fit.

I volunteered for one class, enjoyed it so much, that I haven’t stopped since”.

What is your favorite thing about being part of the Cooking Matters team?
“Doing what I enjoy and helping others to change their diets and lives and getting people excited about cooking.

I love it when classes get excited about cooking and trying new things and experimenting with the recipes”.

Do you have a favorite moment from a Cooking Matters class you would like to share?
“There really is not one particular moment that stands out. There are a lot of great moments.  I like to make and bring different things for the classes to try.

The look on their faces as they try and LIKE the different healthy grains and vegtables that they have never tried before is fun.

I really enjoy the family classes.  Seeing the kids getting excited about chopping, cooking,  eating healthy and trying new things.

To see the students get excited about cooking is a wonderful thing.  Helping educate others about how easy it is to eat healthy fresh food”.

What ingredients will we always find in your kitchen?
“Since I tend to make the majority of my food, my pantry is stocked full of different spices and ingredients.  I love cooking different styles of food including Asian, Indian, Mexican, Polish, Chinese, so I have a lot of different ingredients. I grow my own micro greens in my kitchen, and maintain an herb garden as well. I am a strong proponent of raw milk and use it to make my own Kefir, yogurt, mozzarella and Farmer’s cheese”.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
“I like cooking the most. I also enjoy hunting and cooking any game that I get.  I am also a do-it-yourselfer around the house and love doing home improvement”.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Volunteer Spotlight: Bonnie Green Volunteer Spotlight: Ashley Perold

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Cooking Matters Twitter Feed

USDA Statement

This material was partially funded by the State of Michigan with federal funds from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by way of the Michigan Nutrition Network at the Michigan Fitness Foundation. This work is supported in part by the Michigan Department of Human Services, under contract number ADMIN-10-99011. Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the view of the Michigan Fitness Foundation or the Michigan Department of Human Services. In accordance with Federal law and USDA policy, these institutions are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political beliefs or disability. To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720- 6382 (TTY). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program provides nutrition assistance to people with low income. It can help you buy nutritious foods for a better diet. To find out more contact the toll free Michigan Food Assistance Program Hotline at (855) ASK-MICH. Space-Limited USDA/DHS/MNN Credit Statement This material was partially funded by the State of Michigan with federal funds from the United States Department of Agriculture Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by way of the Michigan Nutrition Network at the Michigan Fitness Foundation. These institutions are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political beliefs or disability. People who need help buying nutritious food for a better diet call the toll free Michigan Food Assistance Program Hotline: (855) ASK-MICH.

